I found a unique book the other day called At the Still Point: A Literary Guide to Prayer in Ordinary Time.  My love of both literature and liturgy made this a no-brainer as far as a book I knew would be something I’d like.   It incorporates scripture, and then prayers and readings straight from literature – a truly unique mix. 

I’ve only had it this week, and I’m not reading it in order, instead deciding I’d do a chapter a week based on what resonated with where I was at – so this week I did the “All Shall be Well” readings.  

I had actually see this piece by Julian of Norwich before, but I especially appreciated it the last few day as I’ve been reflecting on it anew.

All Shall be Well
Julian of Norwich

And so our good Lord answered

    to all the questions and doubts

         that I might make,

saying comfortingly:

     I may make all things well,

     I can make all things well,

     I will make all things well,

     and I shall make all things well;

     and thou shall see thyself

     that all manner of thing shall be well.

Where He says, I may,

     I understand it for the Father;

and where He says, I can,

     I understand it for the Son;

and where He says, I will,

     I understand it for the Holy Ghost;

and where He says, I shall,

    I understand it for the unity of the blessed Trinity:

         three persons and one Truth;

and where He says, Thou shall see thy self,

    I understand the oneing of all mankind

         that shall be saved unto the blessed Trinity.

And in these five words

    God wills we be enclosed

         in rest and in peace.

