5 minute friday

I’m going to start participating in this Five Minute Friday exercise.  The main rule is to write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking – on the topic that Lisa-Jo posts about each week.

This week’s topic is:  Real

 

I’m afraid if I were being very real I’d say more than I probably should at the moment. 

There’s a lot going on and I feel like most of it is needing to be compartmentalized into little boxes, safely tucked away until the time is right, or until more information is known, and only then can things be removed from their stashed away places and brought into the light.

But, as such, I don’t feel as if I’m able to be very real.  Or at least not very broadly.

I’m grateful for the safe places of close friends with whom I can be real, with whom there’s no need to weigh my words.  Friends who I know will stick with me even if this road stays long and steep and tumultuous – and I’m so grateful for that.

If I were being real, I’d have to admit that there are moments that it’s hard not to let fear start creeping in and the ‘what ifs’ take over – when what I really need to stay in right now is that which I can say is ‘what is.’

If I were being real, I’d also have to say that I’m concerned about how work and life are going to fit well together.  The beginning of May until about mid-September is the crazy time for me at work, the time when I feel like all I do is run, and that’s in a normal year, not a year when I’m feeling like God’s leading me to make some sweeping changes. 

And with real life spinning out of control, too?  In some moments, that just doesn’t feel doable.  But I will cling to hope, remember that God is my strength, and will pray, pray, pray, pray, pray! 

The reality is, as much as it doesn’t feel that way at times, I do know and believe God’s got this covered – and I just need to seek to glorify Him in the midst of it – and all shall be well.

