One of the most therapeutic things for me is good music.  I carefully craft playlists once every nine or so months, each list progressing from one to the other full of various stages of worship music.  Friends who have heard parts of a playlist often ask for the entire listing because they’ve found I spend a (ridiculous) amount of time placing each song in a place that fits and flows – just so I can appreciate it for months or years of listening.

I’ve been in the process of making a new set of lists – somehow now I’m up to five or probably six playlists just to get them all to fit (since my car isn’t a hug fan of my ipod, which means I need to be able to burn them to a disc to listen in the car) which is out of control, but I guess says something about how often I find God speaks to me through music, or how often music helps me speak to God!

This is a song I’ve just recently learned of, and I love it. 

He is all I want to hear – amidst all the noise, distraction, and busyness around me. Some days it’s easy to sit and listen to this song and find the words my genuine and heartfelt prayer. 

Other days, while He is all I want to hear, it’s one I have to put on repeat because I feel surrounded by silence or like it’s turning into an endless wait.

But I think God gets that…and I’m glad.

I Will Wait
Ryan Kondo

Jesus, Lover of my soul
The One who’s in control
When all the world fails me

Jesus, the One who draws me near
Whose voice I long to hear
The One who is in me

On You who calms the seas
On You who loves to speak to me
On You I will wait patiently

And I will wait
Wait to hear Your voice
In the midst of this noise
You’re all I want to hear, God

And I will wait
As long as it takes
For the silence to break
You’re all I want to hear, God

All I want to hear, God
You’re all I want to hear, God
You’re all I want to hear, God
All I want to hear, God

On You who calms the seas
On You who loves to speak to me
On You I will wait patiently

*The song title links to youtube where you can hear the song yourself!