Before me, even as behind, God is, and all is well.

~John Greenleaf Whittier

When I read this quote awhile back I was so struck by the succinctness of it.  It really just…says it all!

On days when things seem to spin out of control, there is such a peace and confidence that comes from knowing that just as God has proven over and over that all of life is in His hands, the same will be true today and tomorrow. 

Whittier’s words are ones that almost echo the heart of Corrie ten Boom’s quote I shared about regarding God not having problems, but rather plans.  And, of course, it’s also so reminiscent of Julian of Norwich’s words and the reminder that all shall be well.

Over the last several weeks, we’ve had uncharacteristically soupy/foggy weather, sometimes persisting for days on end. Heading to work each morning I can see so little in front of me – let alone discerning anything more than a car length on any side.  Life has felt a bit like I’ve been living in that same soupy foggy mess.  And like has been the case for our foggy weather, this season in life has been drawn out, unpredictable, and disorienting.

As is always the case with fog, eventually the skies begin to clear, and the sun breaks through, in the same way, even in the midst of what feels like blinding and disorienting darkness in life, God is, and He begins to bring light and perspective and clarity, even in the midst of some of the fog.

In various ways He’s reminded me of that all week, and I’m so grateful.  That, in turn has reminded me again of Whittier’s fabulous quote that I’ve been carrying around on my heart and mind for weeks:

“Before me, even as behind, God is, and all is well.”

