If God wants you to do something
He’ll make you possible for you to do it;
but the grace He provides comes only with the task
and cannot be stockpiled beforehand.
We are dependent on Him from hour to hour,
and the greater the awareness of this fact,
the less likely we are to faint or fail in a crisis.
~Louis Cassels

A man can no more take in a supply of grace for the future than he can eat enough today to last him for the next 6 months, nor can he inhale sufficient air into his lungs with one breath to sustain life for a week to come. We are permitted to draw upon God’s store of grace from day to day as we need it.

~D.L. Moody

How many times I find I wish I could just “bottle up” some of God’s grace for the next day – or for even just a few moments from now.

How often I wish I could store up some strength for the next unexpected moment or crisis.

And then God reminds me that no, He is enough – but there’s no ‘stocking up’ for a ‘rainy day’ or rather a challenging day! He provides what’s needed, but not for me to horde and preserve, rather to use for the tasks and situations He calls me to.

It’s reminiscent of Judges 6:14:

God tells Gideon, ‘Go in the strength you have…’

God doesn’t tell Gideon to just grit his teeth and go get this huge undertaking done.

He doesn’t promise Gideon extra strength.

And He doesn’t tell Gideon to wait a day and stockpile the strength from today as well.

He simply tells Gideon to go in the strength that he has in this moment – and God knows that’s exactly what Gideon needs for the task.

God has given Gideon exactly enough for what he was facing in that moment.

In the same way, God gives the strength and grace I need for each moment.

It’s in that inability to stockpile His grace or strength in advance – or even just from one moment to the next – that God keeps me depending on Him.

And that’s a good thing living in dependence on the One who is enough – who is my sufficiency – in all things.

