One of my most beloved possessions is my copy of The Jesus Storybook Bible (including the videos – though those are intended to be used for curriculum you can now even buy them separately starting next month…volume 1volume 2 – if you’ve not seen the videos they are heart-touching!) God uses that to stir my heart and to challenge and encourage me in powerful ways.

Just a few months ago, right around the time my crazy current health crisis began, a devotional, by the same creator/illustrator, came out – Thoughts to Make Your Heart Sing.

For weeks, those were the only two things I ever even cracked open.  I’ve given away dozens of copies of Thoughts to Make Your Heart sing to friends and loved ones.  All of them have loved it and been blessed by it as much as I have!

I wish I could get up to attach a copy of the illustration that goes along with it, but since I can’t right now, at least I wanted to share one of the devotionals that I’ve been encouraged by this past week in the midst of all that’s gone on.

Hardly-Even-There Faith

When Jesus’ friends asked, ‘Give us more faith!’ Jesus told them they already had enough.

Even faith as small as a mustard seed is enough.  How small is a mustard seed?  About as small as the period at the end of this sentence.  Jesus said that’s enough faith to uproot a huge tree and plant it into the sea!

Even the tiniest speck of faith – the little bit you have – so-small-it’s-hardly-even-there faith – is enough.  Enough for you to do whatever Jesus has asked you to do.

Because it’s not about us and how much faith we have.

It’s about Him and how faithful He is!

“If you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mulberry tree, ‘Be uprooted and planted in the sea,’ and it will obey you.” 

Luke 17:6

I am so grateful that it’s NOT about me and how much faith I do – or don’t – have at a particular moment, but that it IS about Him and how faithful He is!

