As I posted awhile back, I’m a multi-tasker, sometimes to an extreme.  That shows up in almost every arena of my life, but nowhere moreso than when it comes to TV.

Unless I’m watching something in another language when I need to be paying closer attention, or watching a movie with someone, I can’t just sit and watch TV or a movie.

During these last six and a half months, my ability to multi-task has all but disappeared.  Much of the time it feels like I can hardly focus on one thing, let alone two or three at once.  That is one of the “normal” life things I find myself frequently frustrated with and one of the things I miss most.

A few days ago, I had a good hour or so when I felt pretty “ok” and I pulled out fabric to start working on some quilts for the kiddos of some friends.  I had the NASCAR race on in the background but was only half tuning in as I tried to concentrate on colours and designs.

Though I didn’t really notice it until the tail end of the commercial the first time, I realized a sort of catchy little tune caught my ear.  When I heard it start again later I stopped and really watched and listened.

A full 90-second spot, it was Oreo’s newest commercial.

I can’t begin to tell you how many times since then I’ve found myself humming this silly tune.

Stopping and really listening to it, I realized how applicable the essence of the message of the commercial actually is to the rest of life.

Taking the “Oreo” piece out of the equation, what happens if we substituted in “grace” or “love” or “forgiveness” or “kindness” or “_______” (any number of other gifts) into any relationship or scenario that we can imagine?

Do we “wonder if” and think about the domino effect of the difference that one act of kindness can have on the lives of people even much further down the line?

Something we do for one individual may change the entire trajectory of their day, week, or even their entire life.  And as a result of the changes that one small act might make in the life of the original person, it has the potential to impact the lives of so many others, as well.

Bringing cookies to a lonely neighbor may brighten their day.  In turn, they may be reminded that even small things can make a big difference, and they might write a note to someone going through a rough time.  When things in their own life turn a corner, that person who had received the note might decide to bless someone else by bringing a meal to a family who just had a new baby.  And on and on and on.

While on face value the commercial is silly, using fictional characters and Oreos, the essence of it is a great reminder and challenge.

Whenever I hear it play in the background or find myself humming it’s catchy little melody, I’ll “wonder if” and resolve to do even little things that might cause a chain reaction of actions to make even a bit of a difference in the life of another person.

Wonderfilled

Wonder if I gave an Oreo
To the big bad wolf
How would the story go?
Would he still go huff and puff?
Or would he bring those pigs cool stuff
To decorate the deck he helped them build?
Would they not get killed?

Wonder if I gave an Oreo
To a vampire
In a creepy show.
Would he not act so undead?
Would he thirst for milk instead?
I’ve just got this feeling that it might work all right

‘Cause cream does wondrous things
Inside a a chocolate sandwich dream

If I gave them to great white sharks
Would they give them to baby seals?
Would they call up a giant squid
For a friendly meal?

Wonder if I gave an Oreo…
Wonder if I gave an Oreo…
What if I gave
An Oreo to you?

