5 minute friday Linking up with Lisa-Jo and the great group that participates in Five Minute Friday. The main rule is to write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking – on the topic that Lisa-Jo posts about each week.

The topic for this week:  View

There are so many times I wish I could see things from God’s point of view.  To be able to see the bigger picture, more than just a glimpse of what is going on, or the way He is going to work things out for my good and His glory would provide a measure of reassurance and peace.

At the same time, if I could really see from His point of view, not only would it not require the same measure of faith, but seeing the challenges and struggles around the bend probably wouldn’t make things any easier than walking through them uncertain of the outcome at this very moment does anyway.

Thinking about the word view also brings to mind a movie from a few years ago, Vantage Point.  Vaguely reminiscent of the TV series 24, and far more suspenseful and full of explosions and things prone to make one jumpy than I’m typically fond of, Vantage Point was a rather unique movie, though it was met with oddly mixed reviews.

Without giving away everything, an incident happens in the first 20 or so minutes of the movie, and then it rewinds and you see the same incident happen from the point of view of another individual.  The entire movie revolves around seeing that one event from the vantage point of each of the other key characters or witnesses.

It’s rare to literally see something from the perspective of someone else.  At times in a book or movie or even just in a conversation, we’ll have a character lend their perspective verbally, but to literally see an event replayed a half dozen or more times from entirely different viewpoints each time made me take pause.

In each case it appeared that individual had the correct or most accurate insight from their point of view.  Yet the event was still shrouded in the frame of reference of each character, complete with their own subtexts and personal biases.

I wish we could rewind and look at the events from the eyes of another – or, at times, from the eyes of several others.  I wish that they could see what I see – and I wish that I could see what they see.  Things could be much clearer – or at least allow for a fuller and more complete picture.

Ultimately, I guess it comes back to how I started this out, thinking about how God has the ultimate view – the ultimate vantage point.

And that?  What reassurance it provides, even if I’m still walking in the midst of uncertainty!

